The Littlest Soapbox

April 12, 2010

The Daily Fix

Filed under: Books,News & Politics — mikecgannon @ 1:37 PM

Here are a few book-related pieces I found online today:

The Sunday Book Review for the New York Times had a brief blurb on conservative writer Jason Mattera’s recent book Obama Zombies. Additionally, a review of a book that has been out for a while, but that I’ve been eyeing for a couple weeks: Brooklyn, by Colm Toibin. Definitely outside of my usual reading comfort zone, which is part of why I’m so interested: realist, historical fiction doesn’t generally draw my eye, but this does, which has me curious.

Also at Sunday Book Review, a review that sounds highly intriguing of a new Young Adult novel, The Last Summer of the Death Warriors, by Francisco X. Stork (despite the title, NOT fantasy, but gritty, modern-day realism). I’ll be keeping my eye open for this one.

I saw this at The Daily Beast a couple of days ago, and am determined to explore further once it comes out. Suffice to say, four kids, Disney cruise, travel nightmare. Sounds hilarious.

All right, I’ve got to start work. More to follow this evening.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

