The Littlest Soapbox

April 13, 2010

The Littlest Soapbox New Releases of Note Report: April 13, 2010 Edition

Filed under: Books,New Releases of Note — mikecgannon @ 1:15 AM

Today, I’m introducing what I hope will become a regular feature of this blog: the weekly New Releases of Note Report [emphasis added for the heck of it]. Since almost all new books, CDs, and DVDs that are tied to a set “street date” release on a Tuesday (don’t ask me why Tuesday is the day, it’s just an industry standard), I’ll be posting this bright and early Tuesday morning (after drafting it late late Monday night), to be perused at your leisure.

OK, I’ll dispense with the remainder of the pleasantries and get right to it. Here is your inaugural New Releases of Note Report!

My Top Five Picks of the Week

1. Spooky Little Girl, by Laurie Notaro. This new novel by well-known memoirist and humorist Notaro sounds delicious, with a down-on-her-luck protagonist who finds herself, on top of everything else, dead, and must deal with a rapidly collapsing afterlife.

2. In Free Fall, by Juli Zeh. Zeh, a German novelist, has written her second novel, which is being characterized as a tightly-wound, stimulating murder mystery and thriller. Given the runaway success of European writers working with this genre of late (Steig Laarson comes to mind), I’m inclined to believe the hype, and strongly recommend giving this one a look.

3. Beatrice and Virgil, by Yann Martel. The latest ovel from the author of Life of Pi. ‘Nuff said, really.

4. First Comes Love, then Comes Malaria, by Eve Brown-Waite. What looks like an entertaining love story/travelogue/Third World culture shock memoir.

5. Tales of the Otherworld, by Kelley Armstrong. Another collection of short stories set in the author’s “Otherworld” universe. Armstrong isn’t my particular roast of coffee when it comes to urban fantasy, but you can’t argue with her output, or her influence on the genre as a whole. Fans of Charlaine Harris and Sherrilyn Kenyon should definitely check this one out.

Best of the Rest

This Is A Soul, by Marilyn Berger. Heartwarming biography of Dr. Rick Hodes and his nearly three decades of work in Africa.

Making Haste From Babylon, by Nick Bunker. New, highly detailed history of the Pilgrims and the founding of Plymouth Plantation by, of all people, a Brit.

The Shadow of Your Smile, by Mary Higgins Clark. The latest offering from one of the doyens of the mystery/thriller genre.

Rides A Dread Legion, by Raymond E. Feist. Mass market paperback release of last year’s epic fantasy.

I Just Want You To Know, by Kate Gosselin. The reality-TV mom follows up on her previous book, Multiple Blessings.

Advertisements

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: