The Littlest Soapbox

August 31, 2010

New Releases Of Note 8/31/10 Edition

Filed under: Books,Film,New Releases of Note — mikecgannon @ 4:37 PM

First and foremost:

HOUSE!

Also worth mentioning:

The Way Of Kings, by Brandon Sanderson

Triumff: Her Majesty’s Hero, by Dan Abnett

Clockwork Angel, by Cassandra Clare

Enjoy!

Advertisements

August 24, 2010

New Releases of Note 8/24/10 Edition

Filed under: Books,New Releases of Note — mikecgannon @ 2:52 PM

It’s been a good couple weeks for books!

Mockingjay, by Suzanne Collins

Legends of Shannara: Bearers Of The Black Staff, by Terry Brooks

Crimes Against Liberty: An Indictment of President Barack Obama, by David Limbaugh

August 10, 2010

New Releases of Note 8/10/10 Edition

Filed under: Books,New Releases of Note,News & Politics,Religion — mikecgannon @ 8:07 AM

Some good political books out recently, as well as a new collection of the teachings of Blessed Teresa of Calcutta. Enjoy!

Where There Is Love, There Is God, by Mother Teresa of Calcutta



Dismantling America
, by Thomas Sowell

The Post-American Presidency, by Pamela Geller, with Robert Spencer

The Truth About Obamacare, by Sally C. Pipes

Culture of Corruption (Paperback Edition), by Michelle Malkin

July 27, 2010

New Releases Of Note 7/27/10 Edition

Filed under: Books,New Releases of Note — mikecgannon @ 8:55 AM

Some of the new and recent releases out today that caught my eye.

Waking The Witch, by Kelley Armstrong

The Rite: The Making of a Modern Exorcist, by Matt Baglio

A Princess of Landover, by Terry Brooks (Mass Market paperback release)

Dark and Stormy Knights, edited by P.N. Elrod

Grace Before Meals, by Father Leo Patalinghug

June 8, 2010

New Releases Of Note 6/8/10 Edition

Filed under: Books,New Releases of Note — mikecgannon @ 11:07 AM

It’s Tuesday again! Here’s a look at five new book releases for this week that I thought you would enjoy!

The Passage by Justin Cronin. This apocalyptic vampire novel has been getting a ridiculous amount of buzz, and the author a ridiculous amount of money ($5.5 million between book and movie rights, and royalties haven’t even started rolling in yet). At 600 pages, it’s hefty, but by all accounts still an awesome read. Pair this with Blood Oath for this summer’s horror fix.

Speaking of vampire fiction, Stephanie Meyer released a novella which ties in with Eclipse this past Saturday, The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner. It tells the story of one of the newborn vampires who attack the Cullens at the end of the third book of the Twilight series. As the title suggests, it ends with the eponymous vampire’s death at the hands of the Volturi, which was quite frankly my favorite part of Eclipse. Read your little sister’s copy; she’ll have one.

The Lion, by Nelson DeMille, for you mystery fans.

Medium Raw, the latest book by celebrity chef Anthony Bourdain.

The Only Game In Town, a collection of sportswriting from The New Yorker, edited by David Remnick. This is the latest in a series of similar collections of New Yorker articles; previous books have covered humor writing and cooking. This one actually looks like it could be interesting.

Enjoy!

June 1, 2010

New Releases of Note May Edition

Filed under: Books,Film,General Interest,Music,New Releases of Note,News & Politics — mikecgannon @ 5:34 PM

Seeing as it would be counterproductive to go back over ALL the significant releases that happened last month, but that there were still some excellent titles put out that deserve to be highlighted, I’ll be giving you my top ten list for May releases. Here they are, in no particular order.

Star Wars: Fate of the Jedi: Allies, by Christie Golden

Blood Oath: The President’s Vampire, by Christopher Farnsworth

Rush Limbaugh: An Army of One, by Zev Chafets

The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest, by Stieg Larsson

A Wizard of Mars, by Diane Duane

What Washington Can Learn From The World of Sports, by George Allen

The Grand Jihad: How Islam and the Left Sabotage America, by Andrew McCarthy

The Father of Us All: War and History, Ancient and Modern, by Victor Davis Hanson

Hamlet, with David Tennant and Patrick Stewart

Hang Cool Teddy Bear, by Meat Loaf

April 27, 2010

The Littlest Soapbox New Releases of Note Report: April 27, 2010 Edition

Filed under: Books,New Releases of Note — mikecgannon @ 5:17 PM

This week’s top pick: William F. Buckley Jr: The Maker of a Movement, by Lee Edwards.


Other titles of note:

History
Winston’s War, by Max Hastings
Hellhound On His Trail, by Hampton Sides

Biography
Getting The Pretty Back, by Molly Ringwald

Language
There’s A Word For It,, by Sol Steinmetz

Science Fiction
Star Wars Fate of the Jedi: Outcast, by Aaron Allston (Mass Market Paperback Release)

Horror
Relentless, by Dean Koontz

Young Adult
Kiss of Death, by Rachel Caine
Burned, by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
Mistwood, by Leah Cypess
The Vampire Diaries: The Fury, by L.J. Smith (Mass Market Paperback Media Tie-in Release)

Still having Internet trouble; hopefully I’ll be back tomorrow with full content, otherwise look for new postings on Thursday. Happy reading!

April 13, 2010

The Littlest Soapbox New Releases of Note Report: April 13, 2010 Edition

Filed under: Books,New Releases of Note — mikecgannon @ 1:15 AM

Today, I’m introducing what I hope will become a regular feature of this blog: the weekly New Releases of Note Report [emphasis added for the heck of it]. Since almost all new books, CDs, and DVDs that are tied to a set “street date” release on a Tuesday (don’t ask me why Tuesday is the day, it’s just an industry standard), I’ll be posting this bright and early Tuesday morning (after drafting it late late Monday night), to be perused at your leisure.

OK, I’ll dispense with the remainder of the pleasantries and get right to it. Here is your inaugural New Releases of Note Report!

My Top Five Picks of the Week

1. Spooky Little Girl, by Laurie Notaro. This new novel by well-known memoirist and humorist Notaro sounds delicious, with a down-on-her-luck protagonist who finds herself, on top of everything else, dead, and must deal with a rapidly collapsing afterlife.

2. In Free Fall, by Juli Zeh. Zeh, a German novelist, has written her second novel, which is being characterized as a tightly-wound, stimulating murder mystery and thriller. Given the runaway success of European writers working with this genre of late (Steig Laarson comes to mind), I’m inclined to believe the hype, and strongly recommend giving this one a look.

3. Beatrice and Virgil, by Yann Martel. The latest ovel from the author of Life of Pi. ‘Nuff said, really.

4. First Comes Love, then Comes Malaria, by Eve Brown-Waite. What looks like an entertaining love story/travelogue/Third World culture shock memoir.

5. Tales of the Otherworld, by Kelley Armstrong. Another collection of short stories set in the author’s “Otherworld” universe. Armstrong isn’t my particular roast of coffee when it comes to urban fantasy, but you can’t argue with her output, or her influence on the genre as a whole. Fans of Charlaine Harris and Sherrilyn Kenyon should definitely check this one out.

Best of the Rest

This Is A Soul, by Marilyn Berger. Heartwarming biography of Dr. Rick Hodes and his nearly three decades of work in Africa.

Making Haste From Babylon, by Nick Bunker. New, highly detailed history of the Pilgrims and the founding of Plymouth Plantation by, of all people, a Brit.

The Shadow of Your Smile, by Mary Higgins Clark. The latest offering from one of the doyens of the mystery/thriller genre.

Rides A Dread Legion, by Raymond E. Feist. Mass market paperback release of last year’s epic fantasy.

I Just Want You To Know, by Kate Gosselin. The reality-TV mom follows up on her previous book, Multiple Blessings.

Blog at WordPress.com.